The 59th Concurso de Canto Tenor Viñas has announced the 2022 winners.

The competition, which took place at the Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona, ​​was won by British soprano Gemma Summerfield; she also won an award from the Festival Castell de Peralada.

Second place went to French singer Eugénie Joneau; Joneau also won a prize from the Òpera de Sabadell.

The third place prize went to Korean singer SeokJong Baek. Fourth prize went to Russian singer Aleksei Kulagin, and American singer Blake Denson took fifth place. Finally, sixth place went to Paride Cataldo from Italy.

The competition also awarded a special prize for Oratorio-Lied to Katia Ledoux and a special prize for interpretation of Mozart to Davide Giangregorio. The Zarzuela prize went to Eugénie Joneau, while the best performer of Russian music went to Aleksei Kulagin.

For the best interpretation of Verdi, Paride Cataldo won a special prize, while the Fundació de Música Ferrer-Salat special prize was awarded to six Spanish singers: Ferran Albrich, David Barrera, Carmen Mateo, Anna Niebla, Violeta Alarcón and Laura Braso.

The Plácido Domingo Special Prize was awarded to SeokJong Baek and Laia Vallés.

The four winners of the Teatro Real Award are Gemma Summerfield, Eugénie Joneau, SeokJong Baek and Aleksei Kulagin.

Meanwhile, Astana Opera offered Inho Jeong a chance to debut with the company.

The “Mercedes Viñas” prize was awarded to Yewon Han and Laura Brasó was crowned best Catalan singer.

LG Artist Management awarded a prize to Laia Vallés, while the Festival de Música de Cadaqués awarded a recital to Joneau and Giangregorio. Blake Denson received a recital from the Gran Teatre del Liceu at the Saló del Miralls, as well as a scholarship from the Accademia Musicale Chigiana de Siena.

Cataldo has been lucky enough to participate in European Opera Center projects, while five singers have won the Internationale OpernWerkstatt; these winners are Taehan Kim, Yewon Han, Laura Brasó, Blake Denson and Caternia Meldolesi.

The final prizes, which consisted of studies at the Academia Internacional de Música Elena Obraztsova, were awarded to Laura Brasó. Finally, the public prizes went to Laia Vallés and SeokJong Baek.


Russians borrowed 3.9 trillion rubles from banks last year —


MOR's "shallow intelligence" seeks beauty for all

Check Also